Rae’s Rules to Remember #24: Stop Making Female Characters Weak

I’ve been wanting to write this post for a while, but my inspiration to actually do it comes from Jo over at Bookloversblog. She wrote an amazing post on Feminism in YA that you should definitely check out because it is awesome and says everything that needs to be said.

I absolutely cannot stand when women are perceived as weak in books, TV, or whatever. It’s the reason that I hate a lot of books or shows. This image of women that we are weak, naive, fragile and hopeless is absolute bullshit.

There’s a new show on ABC called The Catch and I stopped watching after the first episode (I barely even watched that). The main character (a woman) who is actually pretty kick ass and a private investigator. Was conned by a guy that she was only dating for a year. She “fell so in love” with him that she gave him all of her money (1.4 million) and he stole it. All of it. To make it worse, after he screws her over multiple times, she keeps going back to him despite the fact that he is not only conning her, but sleeping with another woman.

Even on Scandal (which is a show that I love) The Vice President almost ruined her campaign for president when she found out that her boyfriend cheated on her. Worse than that….she took him back. This is the kind of shit that I hate. Yes, I totally understand that if you love someone it is hard to let them go. But it’s almost always women (at least that I have seen). I hate when a female characters actions and happiness are based off of anyone but themselves, and that is how a lot of women are portrayed in fiction as if relying on themselves is just too hard for them to do.


Moral of the Story: The time for believing that women are weak and feeble beings is over

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Rae's Rules. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Rae’s Rules to Remember #24: Stop Making Female Characters Weak

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    I agree. It drives me insane (on Scandal) how many times Olivia goes back to Fitz, no matter what’s happened. I sit there and all I can think is, even if he actually is a good guy, all this love affair does is bring you further unhappiness and complications. And, to be honest, I sometimes think he brings the worst out in her, too. It bugs me so bad – not so much the affair, but the refusal to see that it’s so destructive.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma The Book Lover says:

    YES PREACH!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: May Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  4. Pingback: Rae’s Rules to Remember #64: Reading Pet Peeves | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

