Please tell me this is a joke

*Trigger warning* This post includes talk of rape/sexual assault.

I was scrolling through Facebook today and saw something that not only makes me sick to my stomach but absolutely disgusted in this country. An Oklahoma court has decided that…brace yourselves….”oral sex is not rape, if the victim is unconscious from drinking”

WHAT THE FUCK?! How? Please explain to me how the hell this makes sense. In case our makers of the law are somehow confused by this; rape occurs when you don’t give consent. If someone is not able to give consent then it is rape. Oral sex is still a form of sex and it therefore requires consent.

This is the most fucking ridiculous thing that I have ever heard of and it is not only making me furious but I want to cry because I’m so fucking angry. This is exactly why rape culture still exist. Because even our fucking courts can’t do their damn jobs.

At first, I seriously thought that this was a joke but here’s a quote from the court:

“Forcible sodomy cannot occur where a victim is so intoxicated as to be completely unconscious at the time of the sexual act of oral copulation,” the decision read. Its reasoning, the court said, was that the statute listed several circumstances that constitute force, and yet was silent on incapacitation due to the victim drinking alcohol. “We will not, in order to justify prosecution of a person for an offense, enlarge a statute beyond the fair meaning of its language.”

If you want to read the article yourself you can click here. I am absolutely disgusted at the United States justice system. This is fucking bullshit.

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Please tell me this is a joke

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    This is unbelievably insane!!!!!! Yet, “rape culture is a feminist conspiracy”. Yeah.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    Reblogged this on The Melodramatic Confessions of Carla Louise and commented:
    Cannot believe someone would say this …

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wonder what will join the list of what doesn’t constitute sex 😡 insane

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is absolutely stupid! Forget physically, there’s something called a ‘Mental Rape’. Bombarding someone with sexual comments can also be considered a kind of rape, though it’s not physical. Isn’t the honorable court aware of that? Who in their right mind wouldn’t consider fellatio without consent a rape? May be, the judge was intoxicated!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. darthtimon says:

    I would like to think that British law is not as absurd as Oklahoma law. I wouldn’t feel confident about declaring that out loud though.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. As a survivor of sexual violence, this makes me fucking sick.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Since I didn’t read the actual article, I’m just going off of what you said, but I completely agree. I understand that if someone is drunk and can’t remember if they gave consent that it can be tricky, but just because someone was drunk and unconscious does NOT make it okay for them to be taken advantage of. Also oral sex is obviously still sex and if consent isn’t given, it’s not okay to force your body upon someone else’s.. Period. If even a court and judge can’t see that, something is seriously wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: April Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  9. Pingback: Rae’s Rules to Remember #74: There is No Grey Area | bookmarkchronicles

  10. Pingback: There is no grey area – Serenity

Leave a Reply

