Rae’s Rules to Remember #20: Double Standards

As you know by now, I am a feminist and I believe in gender equality. Naturally, some of the things that I hate most are double standards.

I am an African-American woman who is exactly five feet tall. People expect me to be soft spoken if not just quite. However, because I constantly speak my mind and make it known that I don’t care what other people think, people try to claim that I’m “aggressive,” “emotional,” and I often get stereotyped as the “angry black girl.”

Trust me, if I’m angry, you will know that I am angry. I’ll make sure of it. Calling me that just because I disagree with you, prove you wrong, or challenge what you say  is bullshit. Don’t try to shut me up because you don’t have a valid argument.

If I were a man who always spoke his mind and challenged people, I would called “a leader,” “powerful,” and “confident.” Instead I’m “bossy,” “bitchy,” and “have an attitude.” A trend that I’ve noticed is that it’s always people who don’t know me at all (or very little) that try to label me.

I don’t have a problem with speaking up for myself and shutting other people down so let’s move on to the bigger issue here.

Society.

How often are women asked, “Who are you wearing?” on a red carpet. Oh and let’s not forget about the “mani cam.”

Why is that when guys come of age, they are given condoms but women are told “keep your knees shut, don’t be stupid and get pregnant.” People know that it takes two to make a baby right? Just checking.

Why if a woman has multiple sexual partners she’s a slut or a whore, but a man is a stud and “boys will be boys.”

Why is it perceived that women in power “slept their way to the top,” but men always work hard and earn it?

Why did I have to wear a skirt when I played lacrosse?


On the flip side of that, why are reporter’s given access to the men’s locker room but it’s seen as a privacy violation only for women. What if the men want to shower and celebrate in peace?

Why is it that on “What would you Do?” people jumped to help a woman being beaten by her boyfriend but watched when the woman was hitting him.

Why is is believed that men could never be victims of sexual assault and that they “always want it?”

Why are men supposedly not allowed to show emotion without it taking away their “manhood”

Do you see what I’m getting at here? All of this is bullshit. If you think that something is wrong, then it is wrong no matter who does the action. Stop sexualizing and degrading young girls and stop telling young boys to “man up.”

Stop letting society tell you that you have to live up to ridiculous, sexist standards and take stand.

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Rae's Rules. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Rae’s Rules to Remember #20: Double Standards

  1. DaisyWillows says:

    I guess people don’t know what to do when for example they see a woman beating up a man. Society has it drummed into their head that only men abuse females. More gender equality awareness and campaigning is frustratingly the only way forward!

    Like

  2. Tony Burgess says:

    Some folks live by a double standard while others live a double life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my goodness, I watched one of those “What would you do” experiment videos. Not only did no one do anything when the women was beating up the guy, but this stranger walked up to the guy and started hitting him too! I was really frustrated because they never asked this person “Why did you walk up to a strange couple and just start joining in on beating up a complete stranger?”
    I have also seen a lot of women say that men can’t really been abused. Apparently men are bigger than us, so they can just “Walk away”.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A good book I would recommend is “He’s a stud, she’s a slut and 49 other double standards everyone should know about”

    One of the ones that get me is the whole “oh so if we are equal I get to hit women then” why do you want to hit women? Do you go around hitting men? Why is anybody hitting anybody!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Reblogged this on Getting Through Anxiety and commented:
    A great post on equality written by Rae! Please check out her wonderful blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: April Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

