Rae’s Rules to Remember #20: Don’t Tell Me to Smile

Quick little rant for you this morning:

One of my biggest pet peeves is when I’m standing in line or waiting somewhere and some random man has the nerve to say “Smile sweetheart” or “Why do you look so angry?”

First of all sir, no. Just no. Did it ever occur to you that I don’t want to smile, that I don’t feel like it. Maybe I’m having a bad day, did you think about  that? What makes you think that I have to be happy and bubbly all the time?

I don’t have to smile. If you think I look angry well that’s probably  because I have resting bitch face and also because I don’t give a damn how that affects you.

More importantly,  stop fucking telling me what to do. I don’t have to obey you, I don’t have to entertain you. So, get out of my face and leave me alone.

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Rae's Rules. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rae’s Rules to Remember #20: Don’t Tell Me to Smile

  1. Sha'Tara says:

    That’s so funny!!! I remember a couple of years back, someone heard me singing while working and that evening the group I worked with wanted me to sing a Christian song for them because of the voice. Well, I’m not Christian and that set my back up. I didn’t use your language but I thought it, and I said I didn’t want to sing a lie. Which they didn’t understand, so I said no… and they got all huffy and thought “I” was rude! I thought, why should I sing (say) something I completely disagree with just because I can? I’m not a performing monkey, I’m a human being. So, well said, Rae. I also liked your comments on diversity – that’s an endless topic, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bambiquim says:

    Have you seen the Broad City response to this? Pretty much perfect: http://www.bustle.com/articles/70515-broad-city-girls-have-the-perfect-response-when-a-stranger-asks-them-to-smile-video I have a feeling most, if not all, women agree with your sentiments.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: April Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

