Book + Movie Review: The Great Gatsby

One million years later, I finally read The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

4671


Description:

THE GREAT GATSBY, F. Scott Fitzgerald’s third book, stands as the supreme achievement of his career. This exemplary novel of the Jazz Age has been acclaimed by generations of readers. The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan, of lavish parties on Long Island at a time when The New York Times noted “gin was the national drink and sex the national obsession,” it is an exquisitely crafted tale of America in the 1920s.

The Great Gatsby is one of the great classics of twentieth-century literature.


Sooo…. this was on a long list of classics that I thought that I would read in high school but never did. I did like it but it’s not one that I would ever read again.

*There may be a few spoilers*

I think that the only character that I actually like in this entire story is Gatsby. Even though he is extremely obsessed with Daisy (in a pretty creepy way). I get it, he’s in love with her but…it’s still creepy.

Nick Carraway is very….dull. His narration and inner thoughts annoyed me. Maybe I’m missing something because I do not understand the whole relationship between him and Jordan Baker.

Tom Buchanan is a terrible human being, and Daisy Buchanan is a materialistic, bratty little rich girl. There’s really not anything else to add about the characters

Onto the story itself. From friends I had already known the symbolism with the eyes of Dr. T.J. Eckleburg so all of that made sense. Surprisingly, I was not a fan of the writing style, and that was something that I thought that I would like because I thought that that was a part of the reason that the book was so popular. Maybe I’m wrong about though.

Anyway, by the end of the book, I was left with one question: How did Daisy react to Gatsby’s death, if she reacted at all?

Overall I would give it 3/5 stars


 

Movie Review:

I haven’t seen the original movie, but I think that this one did a really good job of putting words from a book into a movie. Gatsby’s parties are depicted exactly as you would expect them to be. Maybe I’m biased toward Leonardo DiCaprio but I thought he did a great job playing Gatsby….I mean, come on… it’s Leo.

For some reason I am not a fan of Tobey Maguire (not in this, not is Seabiscuit, and not even in Spiderman). So that fact that he was cast as a character that I don’t like, it was pretty fitting.

Even though I hate Daisy, I think that Carey Mulligan did a good job portraying her (she was also in P&P so that’s a plus)

With every movie there are some changes so I actually liked that the ending was changed a little bit with the phone ringing at the end. It was also interesting that they left out Gatsby’s dad coming to the funeral but I guess it better portrays him dying alone.

It’s very rare that I give a movie a higher rating than the book but I would give the movie 3.5/5 stars

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book + Movie Review: The Great Gatsby

  1. DaisyWillows says:

    I’ve only read F.Scotts Fitzgerald #Beautiful and the dammed’ Hate the characters in it. I don’t know whether to watch or read ‘the Great Gatsby first. I would probably go with book. I know what Hollywood can do to a classic. I’ve heard the film is all style no substance. I am partial to a bit of Leonardo too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: March Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  3. I loved the movie and the book. Haha. I think that has to do with the fact that I am completely biased when it comes to classics. I couldn’t stop reading it.
    And the movie was so glamorous. *.*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

