This or That? #31

Hello and happy rainy Monday. Hopefully it’s not raining where you are…unless you like rain then hopefully it is raining where you are!


In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! 🙂

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions please let me know!


 

 

Do you watch the movie first

OR

Read the book first


I am a firm believer in reading the books first! I hate watching a movie if I haven’t read it first. The last time that happened, my friend had just given me Divergent to read but I hadn’t started yet. A group of friends got together for a movie night and wanted to watch it and I had to because I was outnumbered 😦

I kind of feel like a good opinion can’t really be based off of just the movies because there’s always a good portion of information that’s left out. And I absolutely hate going to the movie with people who didn’t read the books because they ask questions and they have no idea what’s coming but you do.Also, the quality of the movie essentially comes down to how well a 500 page book is fit into a two hour time frame, so if important details are left out then the movie, for me, isn’t going to be that great.

So I will (try to) always read the book first. Even if I don’t read the book first, I have to rewatch the movie after I read the book so that I can judge it properly.

What about you? Books or movies first (no “it depends”)! Pick one!

~Rae

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to This or That? #31

  1. RoseRead says:

    This is an interesting one because I always used to be a read-the-book-first person. But now that so many books are being adapted into films so quickly, I’ve started to really enjoy watching movies before I read the books. It definitely also gets rid of the potential disappointment of not having the movie meet your expectations after having read the book. It also usually lets me know whether or not I even want to read the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. DaisyWillows says:

    I am usually a reader first film later which I told you about in another post. I have pushed my boundaries with this because there is a series I love watching called ‘the originals’ and the producers of the show have released a trilogy of an even more in depth back story that doesn’t get covered in the series.I watched Alice in wonderland 1950’s version before I read the book and I always have the cartoon characters voice and looks vivid in my mind.. I wish I had read ‘Games of thrones’ before watching the series because there is supposed to be so much more too the book that the gets lost in the series. I suppose it dpeends on what I discover first book or film 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Read the book first! I’m one of those people who in the cinema shout ‘that’s not how it happened in the books!’

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kendra says:

    Definitely read the books first! Unless I didn’t know the movie was modeled after a book. I’ve done that a few times.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Read the book first!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. carlalouise89 says:

    Always book first! Unless I didn’t know it was a book, but I don’t think that counts.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: This or That #31 – Lolsys Library

  8. Pingback: This or That Thursday: Challenge #31 – apieceofparadis

  9. Pingback: March Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  10. Pingback: Are you a good witch, or a bad witch? – Lolsys Library

  11. Pingback: This or That Thursday: Challenge #31 – paradisbooks

Leave a Reply

