Book Review: Since You’ve Been Gone

Helloooooo! It took me a month to finish this book (stupid exams and stuff) but it’s finally over. So, for my YA Novel class, we were required to pick a book similar to the one that we are writing. Mine is about two best friends and one of them goes missing (gasp). My friend Bria, then recommended that I read this book and luckily it was already on my TBR for 2016!

So I’ve just finished reading Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

18189606


Description:

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?


So I am definitely a Morgan Matson fan now in case anyone was wondering.

This will be a super short review because I don’t want to include spoilers (surprising I know).

Anyway, so the whole time that I was reading this everything seemed pretty predictable, but not in a bad way. Everything EXCEPT why Sloane disappeared and why she wasn’t answering Emily’s calls. It didn’t make sense but then of course once you get to the end everything makes sense again.

Other than the predictability, it was a pretty good read, always interesting so I never fell asleep. And if you’ve read Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, some of the characters are in this story too!

I do really love the character in this story but out of all of them I probably dislike Emily the most. As you probably know, I have an issue with weak characters. There was really great character development though so it wasn’t all bad.


 

Overall, I would give it 3/5 stars.  Next I will finally finish The Great Gatsby!

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Book Review: Since You’ve Been Gone

  1. Yes! Finish The Great Gatsby! It’s one of those books that no one expects me to like, but I definitely do! Hope you enjoy it, if you haven’t read it before!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have bought this book about a year ago and surprisingly, I haven’t read it yet. I am looking forward to reading this one soon since it really has great reviews circulating. 😊😊😊

    Great review. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice to see you’ve enjoyed this book! It’s my go to book for when I’m feeling down or just want some of those summer-y vibes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ThePandaBookBlog says:

    Hi! I’m a new book blogger and I stumbled to your blog! Do you mind checking my blog out and maybe follow? Thanks and have a good day!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Too bad it was only a 3-star book, but this was a really good assignment, I think. I learned just as much about writing from reading bad books as I do from good ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thuong Le says:

    I loved this book! It was one of my favourites of 2015 🙂 I liked Emily, yes she was kind of weak but she was relatable and I liked seeing her character develop. Glad you enjoyed it! I’m looking forward to Matson’s new book The Unexpected Everything! The cover looks similar to Since You’ve Been Gone.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: March Wrap Up! 2016 | bookmarkchronicles

  8. Hannah Lucy says:

    I’ve owned this book for like 2 years and never read it, will give it a go at some point haha! And I’m going to start reading The Great Gatsby soon! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

