#Formation

So all of a sudden, there is a huge controversy surrounding Beyonce’s new song Formation and her performance at the SuperBowl.

From what I’ve seen the past couple of days it seems that people are accusing her of being racist because of her new single. But answer this for me…is she racist because she is embracing the fact that she’s black? Because she likes that she’s black? Because she’s raising her daughter to embrace her natural hair? Because she keeps hot sauce in her bag 😉 Because there’s a shot in the video that says ‘stop killing us?’

Or wait, is it because her dancers were dressed as Black Panthers and raised their fists?

Really? Seriously?

People were literally calling her a bitch, saying that her performance was classless, and that they would stop supporting the NFL if she performed. AND THEN, people starting body shaming her. Saying that her ‘ass is huge and disgusting’ and going on and on about how’s she’s fat. Now you’re just grasping for something to say.

What the hell is wrong with people? Stop looking for a reason to start an argument and oppress minorities. Grow up. This song isn’t racist, it tells the truth. If you really think that there is an issue with this song then you are a part of the problem.

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to #Formation

  1. God, I was laughing when I read some woman on Twitter called Bey racist (at first I was mad but then I read the tweets back to her which were quite hilarious #sorrynotsorry) . There was even one who called her backup dancers ‘poodles’ because of their hair.Some called her slut, overrated, predictable, unoriginal (her costume) and lots of other negative things. I just don’t get this people. They were so mean.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    I JUST LOVE THIS!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I was so surprised when I saw what people were saying about her

      Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Me too. And somehow … not. Probably because she’s a black woman. It doesn’t matter she’s Beyonce and AWESOME, she’s still defined by her gender and colour.

        What a pathetic society.

        Liked by 1 person

      • true. Its just that almost everyone loves her so I didn’t think people would be so quick to attack her

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Me too. I kind of always thought that Beyonce would never be able to do wrong. It makes it even more disappointing.

        Kanye West, on the other hand, deserves to be attacked! Did you hear about his twitter post?

        Liked by 1 person

      • No I didn’t hear, what happened?! I so strongly dislike him, when I hear his name I don’t even pay attention lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Me either! It just came up in my newsfeed. He tweeted, “Bill Cosby is innocent”.

        Cue all the screams of people saying rape culture does not exist.

        Liked by 1 person

      • OMG are you kidding? I already kind if hate him so there’s that. Did you hear about the pro rape group in New York? (Probably not if your in Australia but I might write a post about that because when I heard about it I was fuming)

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Not so much in New York, but that Roosh V guy wanted to come to Australia and we banned him. It was HUGE! The scary thing!? All those people who cry “No rape culture!?” Well, they’re wrong. HUNDREDS of Australian men had already signed up to see him! Disgusting. What’s happening in NY?

        I hate Kanye too! And on the topic of him, did you hear his new lyrics? Something like, “Do I think Taylor and I are still going to have sex? Yes because I made that bitch famous.”

        Firstly, know you didn’t. She was receiving an AWARD when you interrupted her; kind of says she was already more famous than you. Secondly, her lowest selling album apparently sold more copies than his highest selling album. Thirdly, you have a wife and kids, and you’re talking about sleeping with someone else? Not just in a song, but actually pointing to someone your wife would know and say “I think we’re going to have sex”. And your wife is okay? And fourthly, that’s not getting into how sexist, discriminatory and misogynistic his song is!

        Liked by 1 person

      • wow, thats awesome that he got banned!!….. So in New York a pro rape group announced that they were having a meeting in like Central Park or something and they were basically going to have a rally. (im totally gonna write a full post on it tomorrow because just telling you the basic details has already got my blood boiling) But they ended up cancelling their plans because a womens boxing club threatened to show up and the “men” no longer “felt safe” They’re so pathetic
        And wow Kanye. honestly I think Kim Kardashian is probably one of the dumbest people on the planet. And how do you let your HUSBAND and father of your children disrespect you and another woman (who has done nothing to you) people are so ridiculous

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Ha ha ha ha now men know how women feel! Pathetic. I’m glad it was cancelled!!

        I know! I really dislike her and Kanye!!

        I can’t wait to read your post. I’m sorry my reply is so short, my poppy died a few hours ago and it’s just hit me a little. I hope I don’t seem short or anything! I don’t mean to be!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh Carla, don’t apologize! I’m so sorry for your loss. Prayers to you and your family, I wish that there was something I could do ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Thank you! That means a lot 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with you totally! I did not watch the super have only heard a comment somewhere that there was even an issue with her performance until you posted I was basically uniformed. This prompted me to look further….see the video….see the performance…..I think that whoever it is famous or not if you have a chance to spread the message about a cause you feel so passionate about then you should do it! Read the news nothing she said is not happening in many places. Everyone loved her until this point. Now they are attacking her on all levels….wow! Embrace love not hate. Embrace change not remain uneducated and uninformed…..ya know what I mean. You made me think in this post. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on Annette's place and commented:

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: February Wrap Up! | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

