This or That? #27

Hey people! Happy Monday!

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! 🙂

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions please let me know!


This week I want to know…

Do you listen to audiobooks? Yes or No?


Here’s my thing with audiobooks: I tried it over the summer but I realized that I can’t just listen to it without following along with the words. I’ll forget that I’m listening to it and leave the room.

So I tried again, with the book to follow along but I decided to drop the audio halfway through. I was listening to the audiobook of The Great Gatsby on Spotify and I really liked the voice that was reading. However, the audio didn’t match up with the book. It left out a lot of the dialogue and some of the descriptive paragraphs. I was fine with that and would just skip ahead to catch up with the track, but then it did this weird thing were it sounded like it was being fast forwarded. I thought it was a one time thing so I went back to where it started and it did it again.

Obviously, I’ll try again with a different novel maybe in Audible or something instead of Spotify but as of right now, I an not a fan of audiobooks.


What about you, do you like audiobooks? Is there a certain app that you use for them? Let me know

 

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to This or That? #27

  1. Nope! I actually don’t think I ever have. I honestly have no real desire to either.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Naaah. I don’t do audiobooks. I can’t focus to what the mysterious voice is talking about,, ♥

    Liked by 2 people

  3. RoseRead says:

    The only time I ever have was one time on a long car trip. Other than that, I never do. I listen to podcasts, and that covers my audio needs.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kendra says:

    Nope. I don’t have the ear for it. Like you, I’ll forget I’m listening to it, and I’ll tune it out. Or I’ll leave the room. I would have to follow along with the words on a page, in order to listen to it. That kinda defeats the purpose, right? Lol

    Like

  5. Pingback: This or That? #27 – emdoesbookreviews

  6. Hmm sometimes but not a lot. I normally either read to fast or too slow while listening to the narrator. So I fail at audiobooking 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. carlalouise89 says:

    I don’t like audio books either!! I much prefer to just read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I like the idea of audio books, but I only have 1. I never get around to it, but I think I am more into non-fiction audiobooks, maybe even autobiographies voiced by the people themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. honya says:

    I get how people can find audio books a good way to “read” when they don’t have time to sit down with a book, but personally, I just find them annoying. Like, I always get annoyed at the person reading because they’re doing something or another wrong. I do love audio dramas though–stories that are actually acted out with different people doing the individual parts and sound effects and such.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: This or That #27 – Lolsys Library

  11. Pingback: This or That? Challenge #27 – katnisspotterbooklover

  12. vrushali21 says:

    I don’t listen to them. I don’t have any reason other than I feel like I’m not reading it somehow so why not listen songs than LISTENING to words. I need to read it to call it a book that I’ve read.
    So that’s why. And I didn’t wanted to write a whole post of two lines. So..

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Pingback: February Wrap Up! | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

