This or That? #26

Hi! 🙂 Happy Monday

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! 🙂

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions please let me know!

 


This week I want to know if you prefer

1st person point of view

OR

3rd person point of view


Okay, this one is kind of tough, but “both,” or “it depends,” or “it doesn’t matter” are not acceptable answers!!!

I really only like 3rd person in Jodi Picoult books, but that’s because she writes about 6 different characters at once. Other than that I prefer 1st person. Sometimes it gives you more insight into the story and what that character is thinking. But then if it’s 1st person you can only really know what that one person is thinking…

That’s also why I like dual perspectives, and in the case of the Shatter Me series, novellas though the eyes of other characters.

Even though it’s limiting, I’ll stick with 1st person as my preference.


 

What do you choose? First or third? Let me know!

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to This or That? #26

  1. I like third person the best. I’m ashamed that I had to look them up to remember which is which… 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: This or that – 1st or 3rd person perspective? | The Wild Readers

  3. Kendra says:

    Personally, I love first person. I feel like I can identify with the character more often than in third person. Also, I am a huge fan of duel points of view. It’s so cool to see what happens on both sides. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy Monday to you too!
    Third person definitely! I find first person books seem to have more Mary Sues.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. To be honest, I actually started reading a 3rd person POV book recently and it was so jarring! I think it’s because it’s an ‘adult’ book versus a ‘YA’ book, which are generally written in 1st person POV. That being said, I think there is a certain disconnect when the book is written in 3rd person. Rather than the MC telling what’s going on, someone else is. Even if the book gives insight into the 3rd person’s mind and thoughts, it’s lacking the full depth and range of emotions and thoughts. It’s restrained. It’s distant. That being said, I think I prefer 1st person because it allows the reader to be more in touch with the character. Also, I think I have a respect for 1st person because it’s harder to write because the writer has to describe everything through the character’s eyes rather than arbitrarily. At the same time, this colors the reader’s viewpoint of the world to be biased to that of the MC = enhancing the connection between reader and MC. *is totally ranting* *end rant*

    Liked by 3 people

  6. honya says:

    I think I prefer first person as well. Seeing the world through the character’s eyes gives such a better feel for the character as compared to only third-person descriptions. But I also like books that incorporate several people’s first-person views, so you in effect get a third-person perspective, just not from an uninvolved narrator. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. carlalouise89 says:

    I’d probably say third person, for the same reason you gave. I like knowing multiple views, and most of my favourite novels use third person. However, I think some people do first person extremely well. Like Courtney Summers and Sarah Dessen.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I like 1st person unless the main character is annoying! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Third person ♥ mainly because Paige talks to herself in that manner.She is weird that way..

    Like

  10. I think both can be good. I can’t decide.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: This or That? Challenge #26 – katnisspotterbooklover

  12. Pingback: This or That? Challenge #26- First OR Third point of view? | Vrushali

  13. One of my favourite authors of all time is Jodi Picoult and has this awesome of telling stories from all of the different major characters from their point of view. So you end up having compassion for everybody in the story. I’m torn because I love having it from the point of view of the character so you go on the journey with them. From a third person point of view you can imagine wherever you want to go, rather than focusing, if that makes sense?lol
    I think I put too much thought into that,lol.
    I think I prefer first person especially if I can relate to the character. Mainly because their ending can sometimes put me at ease! Unless it’s a bad ending … or there’s no ending! Those annoy me SO much,lol

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Pingback: This Or That Vol. 4 – The Lit Mermaid

  15. Pingback: February Wrap Up! | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

