Book Review: Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2)

Hello, hello! So I’ve finished Unravel Me


 

Description:

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.


Sorry but I can’t do this without spoilers! But I will say that I liked it better than Shatter Me


Alright let’s get to it…

After the scene where Juliette punches a hole in the ground after seeing Adam be tested on I realized two things: 1. I hate Castle. He’s extremely arrogant and thinks that his opinion is superior to everyone else’s. He really can’t get mad at Juliette since he’s one of the people that has been keeping everything from her. Of course she freaked out, and even them he answered none of her questions. 2. Juliette needs a serious self-esteem boost. I totally get that she’s in a new place and its a huge transition and then all the rumors. BUT if you think about it, she’s basically experiencing high school at Omega Point. And while Castle is scolding her for not being open, it would make more sense if she just told him that people are avoiding her and they could work it out together. Castle is the one with all the power so he would be the one to tell… I also think that Kenji was a little harsh on her but again a lot of the stuff that he said was true.

Later into the story I realize that Castle isn’t that bad but he is still a jerk sometimes.

Adam’s Energy….I don’t understand why he just didn’t tell her. But now that she knows I’m questioning whether she will end up with him, Warner, or neither. And Warner…oh wait… Aaron. I don’t know how I feel about him yet. Obviously, it turns out that he actually does have a heart. And I think that it’s sweet how much he cares for Juliette but again, I’m not a fan of insta-love. Oh and the fact that they’re brothers! I did not see that one coming. More importantly I cannot wait until Aaron finds out. In my review of Shatter Me, I wondered why they could both touch her. Well there it is.

Juliette is getting less annoying and she is kind of reckless and doesn’t realize her potential in a way that reminds me of Tris Prior.

This is a small detail at the moment but I think it’s great that James has an Energy!

I still want to know the deal with Juliette’s parents though. What happened to them after they threw their daughter away? I guess I’ll have to keep reading.


So I definitely enjoyed this more than Shatter Me so 4/5 stars. Next of course I will be reading Fracture Me.

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Book Review: Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2)

  1. Now that you mention it, I think Castle is a jerk, too. It’s almost as if he holds things back from her not just to protect her but because he can, as if that gives him more authority over people or something.But I love Kenji and James and this book. Yep, I am like you, I am so curious to find out what happened to Juliette’s parents.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hermionefowl says:

    I definitely enjoyed this one more than Shatter Me too 🙂 I really don’t like Warner, even though he has a heart. He’s just awful! Same with Castle, ugh

    Liked by 1 person

  3. transhaan says:

    Ahahah nice review 😀 didnt mind the spoilers so .. I risked it and read your review. 🙈🙆🙆 -Trang

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Shatter Me Series Review | bookmarkchronicles

  5. Pingback: January Wrap Up! | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

