This or That? #24

Hi everybody! Guess what?! It’s my birthday πŸ™‚ I am 22! Do not… reference the Taylor Swift song because you will quickly ruin our friendship. Please and thank you. (Not a fan if you couldn’t guess πŸ˜‰ )


 

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules:Β Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! πŸ™‚

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also,if you have any suggestions please let me know!


 

So this week’s question is:Β If it were your birthday would you prefer to be given…

Β a copy of your favorite book which you have already read a million times

ORΒ 

A copy of a book that you’ve never heard of before? (It could possibly be a really good book or one that you hate. You won’t know until you read it)


So…I always hate when someone asks “what’s your favorite book?” I feel like I can’t really answer it just yet. When I was a kid my favorite book was Number the Stars by Lois Lowry.Β I read it in school and then I bought it and read it over and over again. I wouldn’t mind getting a copy of it now (I don’t think I still have the old one.) But if I really had to choose a favorite book right now I might say Pride and Prejudice. I LOVE that book and the 2005 adaptation with Keira Knightley is amazing! Now that I think of it, I do not have a copy of P&P so I actually wouldn’t mind that either.

But anyway… I see nothing wrong with a book that I’ve never heard of. What if it’s really good? What if it becomes my new favorite book, written by my new favorite author? (Just kidding, Jodi Picoult for life). Β Part of the fun in reading is that there’s always something new to discover right? But then, what if the book is terrible? I mean, one star out of 5, DNF, terrible? Well then it’s a lesson learned I guess.

If I had to choose….wow this is harder than I originally anticipated…

Okay, I would go with the new book. There’s a 50/50 chance that it could be something amazing that opens up a whole new world so why not? I could always just get a copy of P&P myself.


Which would you choose? Let me know! πŸ™‚

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to This or That? #24

  1. Happy Birthday Rae!!! I hope you get to do somethign really fun today!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Birthday! I wouldn’t dare reference to the song because I’m not a fan either nor do I think I’ve ever heard the song either!

    Wow, this question is a tough one! If I’ve read it so many times before, then I must love it, so I think I might have to say that I would want that one!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Birthday! Hope your having a fab day! Now hmmm this question is really hard, but I would have to say the book that I love because I wouldn’t want to read the new book and for it only to be mediocre.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kendra says:

    Happy birthday! I would have to say a book that I love and have read before (maybe a signed copy? πŸ˜‰ ). Because I know I would love it. Whereas a book I’ve never read before, it would be hit or miss. And I would probably be sad if it was a complete miss. Haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. carlalouise89 says:

    Firstly, Happy Birthday!!!
    Secondly, I loved the Keira Knightley version of the film! A lot of people said they didn’t, because it cut stuff from the book. However, as someone who’s read the book a billion times, watched both the mini series and the movie, I think the movie made more sense cutting out some of the stuff. I felt what they cut wasn’t all that relevant or necessary.
    Thirdly, assuming I already have my favourite book, I’d pick a new book. Like you said, it could become my new favourite – and that’s happened to me before. My brother got me some books for Christmas a few years back – by Tess Gerritsen – and she quickly, and easily, became one of my favourite authors. Never heard of her until then; now I can’t stop reading her.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!!! Seriously I cannot imagine someone NOT liking that movie it’s perfect! I have not heard of Tess Gerritsen so do you have any recommendations?!

      Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Yes!! Start with “The Surgeon”, and then move onto “The Apprentice”. It’s murder-mystery. The Surgeon isn’t written as well as the sequel, but they connect really well together (it’s the same killer in both). Then I think “The Sinner” comes, then “Vanish” (I’m pretty sure – Vanish, The Apprentice and The Mephisto Club are my favourites). I can’t remember what comes after Vanish, though. They are SO good. She used to be a doctor, so she really knows how to get the details about it right!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh! Is the series that the show Rizzoli & Isles is based off of?

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Yeah it is!! πŸ™‚ But better!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow happy birthday!!! 22 is my favourite number, so I loved being that age, I miss it (although admittedly it wasn’t so long ago. But anyway I guess you’re feeling 22 now! (Whoops couldn’t help myself!) A copy of a book I’ve never heard before- cos I always like finding something new. And as you said, I could always get a copy of the book I’ve read a million times before myself (or chances are I already own it)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I will forever and always choose a new book. Of course, this doesn’t mean I can’t ask for retellings or variations of my favorite read…. (this is why I own so many different versions of Pride and Prejudice!)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Tasha says:

    Happy Birthday!! πŸ˜€
    I would choose a new book because I love discovering new ones and chances are the person who gave me the book has read it and probably liked it enough to get me one.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. vrushali21 says:

    Belated happy birthday from my side Rae! I’m really sorry for not wishing earlier but in my defense I’d say I’m on a break and so I didn’t know. And today I saw this post.
    Have a very happy life and enjoy!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Pingback: This or That? Challenge #24- A book you love OR a different new book? | Vrushali

  11. Pingback: This Or That? Vol. III – The Lit Mermaid

  12. Happy birthday, Rae! Happy 22! πŸŽ‡πŸŽˆπŸŽ‚

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: January Wrap Up! | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

