Book + Movie Review: The Pact

I absolutely love Jodi Picoult as many of you know. I love her writing style but sometimes her novels are hard to read because they are so sad. This one was probably one of the worst. (In terms of sadness but still a great read).


The Pact by Jodi Picoult

Goodreads Description:

For eighteen years the Hartes and the Golds have lived next door to each other, sharing everything from Chinese food to chicken pox to carpool duty– they’ve grown so close it seems they have always been a part of each other’s lives. Parents and children alike have been best friends, so it’s no surprise that in high school Chris and Emily’s friendship blossoms into something more. They’ve been soul mates since they were born.

So when midnight calls from the hospital come in, no one is ready for the appalling truth: Emily is dead at seventeen from a gunshot wound to the head. There’s a single unspent bullet in the gun that Chris took from his father’s cabinet– a bullet that Chris tells police he intended for himself. But a local detective has doubts about the suicide pact that Chris has described.


Book Review:

I don’t want to give anything away because this is one of her most popular novels. I mentioned that this book was sad and it was but also, like many others, it talks about important issues. From the description you know that the biggest topic is teen suicide.

I think that one of the things that I disliked was that it gave the example of exactly what NOT to do if someone is suicidal. Of course not everyone is trained on what to do in that situation but there are some things that you just know not to do out of common sense. Maybe it’s just common sense to me because I’m an RA I feel like I need to know these things, but it was really hard for me to read how some of this was handled.

As far as the characters go there are to that I hate. The detective in this story is a bitch. I’m not expert in law enforcement but I’m pretty sure that in order to do your job correctly, you have to be fair. Having a hunch doesn’t mean that you can violate someone’s rights. As a head detective you would think she knows that.

And then there’s Melanie Gold. From the very first chapter there was something about her that I just didn’t like and she gets worse as the story progresses. I understand that she is grieving but being in denial and trying to blame someone else doesn’t fix anything.

As far as the ending goes, I was a little surprised that nothing happened. If you read the book you know what I mean 😉

Overall, 3/5 stars.


Movie Review:

The book was turned into a Lifetime movie so you can tell from there that it wasn’t spectacular but it was better than I expected. It did enough justice that the little details in the book weren’t completely left out.

The ending is slightly different but I actually think that I like the movie ending better than the book. It just made more sense to me.

I would give it 3/5 stars.


Next I’ll be reading Night by Elie Wiesel.

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Book + Movie Review: The Pact

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    I really liked this book 🙂 I’d say 3/5 is fair 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Everyone hyped this book up for me so maybe I expected more? I liked Nineteen Minutes better!

      Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Me too! So much more. I preferred My Sister’s Keeper, and another one, I can’t remember the name. It was about a mother who has a family, and then the father dies. In a car accident, later, her daughter is thrown from a car, and discovered by a police man. They fall in love. A few years later, she’s pregnant, and then she comes home and finds out her other daughter and her husband have been murdered by a man who was fixing up their house. It’s so good. I can’t remember the name, but it’s amazing. I think it has something to do with Heart in the title. (Her second daughter, when born, has a heart condition.)

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Although, I had a problem with “Handle with Care” – it’s a book about a young girl who has osteoporosis genesis imperfecta, and her mum files a “wrongful birth law suit” (stating that she wouldn’t have had her baby if she’d known the extent of her disability) and, the first time I liked it. I disagreed with it, in a few ways, but now I hate it. I hate the idea that she’d want an abortion because her child wasn’t perfect.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh I love My Sisters Keeper!!! Didn’t like the movie though. And you’re thinking of Change of Heart! I read that over the summer. I have not read Handle with Care though. I probably will eventually but I agree, i probably won’t like it then. That’s so terrible, children aren’t made to be perfect they’re made to be loved

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        I agree! I’m pro-choice, but it kind of conflicts heavily with the choice I’d make in that situation.
        I so much preferred My Sister’s Keeper (the book) to the movie! I feel like they shouldn’t have changed the ending! Oh, Change of Heart was so good! I loved it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: January Wrap Up! | bookmarkchronicles

  3. I didn’t know that this was a film O.O

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

