This or That? #22

Hello again and happy Monday! ๐Ÿ™‚ Welcome to the first This or That of 2016!

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules:ย Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! ๐Ÿ™‚

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also,if you have any suggestions please let me know!


This week is between…

books

Original Book Covers

OR

movies

Movie Covers


I think that the movie covers are sometimes nicer to look at, but if I am buying the book then I will always go for the original cover. Despite the fact that I will read the exact same thing either way I rather have the original. For some reason I just think its better that way. And because movies are never as good as the books, if the movie is really bad I definitely don’t want the movie poster cover.

What about you? Do you pick one over the other? Does it matter? Let me know! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to This or That? #22

  1. _giovannard says:

    For me it can go either way. It depends on which on looks nicer. Sometimes the movie cover looks cheap/boring(A Walk To Remember, My Sister’s Keeper) and other times they look great (The Great Gatsby)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes the movie covers are great, but I love the originals.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s a tough one … sometimes I love movie covers (especially when there are some of my favourite actors on them), but other times they are way worse than the originals (like with the US cover of the Martian for example). I guess it always depends.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a tough one…I’m not sure it really matters to me. However, I do think that book covers probably suit the story more (if that makes sense). I mean, I think sometimes book covers tend to portray the characters better than movie covers. I don’t know though, this is tricky.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t usually mind either way. Generally, I go by which I like aesthetically. For instance, I own the movie cover for Atonement, by Ian McEwan…and I’ve never change it, because I personally don’t LIKE the original cover. Usually, though, I go with whichever’s cheapest. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Original Book Covers all the way! They create a different persona from the movie covers because they allow the reader to create their own idea of the characters and the world. Movie covers, in my opinion, force everyone to see it in the same way. It leaves little to the imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy New Year!! If you want, we can to follow each other on bloglovin! Just follow me here and I’ll follow you back! โ™ฅ https://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/anna-alina-3947784

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kendra says:

    I love the original covers. In my mind, sometimes the actors don’t do the characters justice. So owning a book with the movie cover, where I didn’t like the movie, is a no-no. I’ll stick to the original covers! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Original book covers for me! I’ve seen too many tacky movie covers…

    Liked by 1 person

  10. carlalouise89 says:

    Original book covers! Movie covers are tacky. I hate them.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Danni Mae says:

    I can’t stand movie poster covers! It’s like the book isn’t the author’s anymore, it’s the media industry’s. I understand that making a book recognizable is good for sales, but equating a book so closely to its movie when movies almost never follow the book devalues the book in my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. What a brilliant idea to compare book covers with their corresponding movie covers. I think I’ll go with the book covers because. . . they’re books! ๐Ÿ™‚ But, really, I think I prefer them because they’re more artistic somehow, less like posters or something.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. honya says:

    Originals, please! They always seem to give a better feel for the actual content of the book. Besides which, all the movie covers seem pretty much the same to me. Booooring.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Originals for me! I don’t like having “real” people on my book covers and with a lot of movie covers that can be the case
    I just found your blog and followed!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Pingback: This or That? #22 | katnisspotterbooklover

  16. It really just depends. Some original book covers are better and some of them not. It just depends. That’s an question that I can’t answer.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I am always choosy when it comes to covers. I hate the movie ones. Once I didn’t buy paper towns by john green(even though I badly wanted to) because they didn’t have the original cover.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Pingback: January Wrap Up! | bookmarkchronicles

  19. storytime231 says:

    I am picky on the covers as well, I love the books more because they give a lot more details on what is happening. I am new and i followed!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

