REPOST THIS!

So if you guys don’t already know Carla please head over to her blog because she is an incredible woman and she posts about really important topics.

Yesterday Carla posted about how she was being harassed on Facebook and when she reported this person to the company and they…. did nothing. NOTHING!! She has screenshots of the horrible things that this person said to her and they still didn’t do anything about it.

To read Carla’s full post Dear Facebook click the link.


I have never personally been harassed like this but at one point a lot of people on campus were using the app Yik Yak to post offensive comments about a number of organizations on campus. (If you don’t know, Yik Yak is basically anonymous Twitter). A lot of these comments were racially charged so a friend and I went to our campus security office (Public Safety) to file a complaint. When we showed the officer some of the posts that had brought us down to the office he basically said that they couldn’t do anything about it because if we’re upset over someone posting their opinion (by opinion he meant racial stereotypes) then it could be said that we were being “too sensitive”

Too sensitive for believing that as a minority at a (PWI) Predominantly White Institution SOMEONE should stand up for the minorities on campus and the organizations that represent those minorities. Too sensitive for thinking that the office that was placed on campus with the purpose of serving their students and making them feel SAFE would actually do their damn jobs. And that was the end of it….they didn’t do anything

So please please please read Carla’s post and repost it as many times as possible. It’s time that the people in high positions that are actually able to have an impact on the horrible things that go on actually do something about it. We (apparently) just have to be the ones that make them do it.

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to REPOST THIS!

  1. carlalouise89 says:

    Thank you so, so much for this!! Your words are so wonderfully kind, and I’m so sad that you tried at your campus, and another organisation failed you and your friend, too! This type of discrimination seriously needs to end – not just for women, but for EVERYONE. It’s so despicable! But thank you so, so much!! I really appreciate it. Your support is so kind and overwhelming (in a good way!)

    Like

    • ” I’m so sad that you tried at your campus, and another organisation failed you and your friend, too!”

      Did you consider the fact that this might be because freedom of speech is a thing? Of course you didn’t.

      Like

      • Did you consider the fact that by arguing freedom of speech you should be proud of what you believe instead of hiding behind an anonymous app knowing that there would be no repercussions? Speaking of freedom of speech since you believe in it so much, that means that I can say whatever I want and you should accept it . Did you consider that? Of course you didn’t.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. carlalouise89 says:

    I’m so sorry …. I told you he was bad. I’ve sent out a blast post to warn people about Jack and Jack’s behaviour. I’m really, really sorry.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carla do not apologize for what he’s doing. This just proves that everything that you said about him was right. He’s pathetic and clearly has nothing better to do than harassing people online.

      Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Thank you so much for your support! It really does. I guess some people don’t understand ‘harassment’. Or, for some reason, are surprised when someone is harassing and insulting you you’d prefer to block them. Trying to work that out now. Sigh. He’s written so many horrible comments to people, it’s ridiculous. I just am not sure if people want to see the comments he’s written to them (although I’m not sure why, and I’m very tempted to just delete everything) or to just trash it all. But at least his continued harassment is proof that I’m not a “paranoid lunatic” like Jack says. Yay for that I guess!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t even know what I would do if I were you. I think that if people want to see what he’s saying then let them but I don’t think he’s going to stop. The fact that he found our blogs says a lot about him. He’s obsessive. He liked my facebook page and I don’t know if there’s even a way to block him from that. I mean I have no issue going up against him and speaking my mind but seriously he lives for this. He clearly has nothing better to do

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        No, he clearly doesn’t. What is wrong with him!? Seriously, there must be something mentally wrong with him. Normal people do not behave this way. Sure, people can get abusive, but he’s full on stalker-like. Does he not have women that stand up to him? Or does he just think he’s right about everything, all the time? Does he not understand the terms ‘harassment’ and ‘abuse’? I hope you find a way to block him!! Hopefully there is a way to block someone from liking your page or something. I’m sure you can handle the abuse; I just feel like that’s not the point. You shouldn’t have to.

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Although, if he’s liked your page, so you can see into his page more, can you please let me know his email address? Apparently you can block someone on wordpress if you have their email address. I would truly appreciate it (but only if you can see it).

        Liked by 1 person

      • There’s a lot wrong with him but he has this complex that makes him think he’s so superior. Unfortunately I can’t see much, there’s no personal info listed at all. It also looks like it’s a fairly new page. When I saw the comments on my page there were only 4 friends and no photos. The profile and cover photos were just added a couple of hours ago

        Like

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Yeah, I think he’s using his second Facebook account (the second one he created to abuse and harass me). But I’ve found a way – comment blacklist. I just need his Facebook URL (the one he’s using right now) and everything he does will be marked as spam and deleted. So if you need to know that for wordpress, that’ll help you, too.

        Thank you so much!!! (Oh, and comment blacklist is in “My site” – “Settings” – “Discussion” – “Comment Blacklist” is towards the bottom 🙂 Thank you for being so understanding!

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Thank you so, so much!!!
        And I really hope he leaves you alone. Anything he writes on my page should be spammed immediately, so hopefully he can’t get to any others that way, too. I don’t want anyone else to experience Jack’s craziness.

        Liked by 1 person

      • And…..now he’s found my twitter accounts. I filed a report with Twitter. Why does he not understand that I have more important things to do than listen to his ridiculous theories about what he thinks feminism is? I don’t care if he doesn’t agree with me but there’s no need to be disrespectful

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        He found mine and another girl’s, too. I blocked and reported him. I agree; it’s fine if he hates feminism, but seriously, what’s his problem??
        He also has created a second WordPress acount https://morefeministstupidity.wordpress.com/. Just to be on the look out. I’m so, so sorry. I knew he was a little off the hook with all the abuse and harassment and stuff, but he’s gone Fatal Attraction crazy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • OMG I can’t believe he keeps creating these accounts. This is like a freaking Lifetime movie

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        I know! It’s insane!! He is literally insane. I’ve contacted a police officer I know personally, and I’ve looked up harassment laws over the internet. Apparently, legal action can be taken if I want to, and I have evidence, thanks to Jack. Maybe keep anything nasty he posts about you, too? Or snap shot it or something? Just in case? You may never have to do anything with it, but that way, at least you have evidence.
        But, at least no one can say I lied when I said he was a crazy stalker. He really, really is. He’s starting to make Ted Bundy look normal.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh don’t worry I’ve started taking screen shots too. This is crazy

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        I know. I’m so, so sorry.

        Like

      • Seriously stop apologizing. It’s not your fault he’s a psycho

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        Thank you. But I feel bad. Like, I brought Satan down upon everyone, just because I wanted Facebook to change their viewing process. I wish he’d just attack me, instead of others.

        Like

      • Nope still his fault. I checked his Twitter page and I seriously think that he searches for key words and then chooses people to harass just because they believe in something he doesnt. And if this actually gets Facebook to do the right thing then it’s worth it and you’ll prevent someone else from having to deal with this

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        That’s what I’m hoping for. And I love Twitter’s review process. I haven’t seen a report back yet (but I haven’t gotten through all my emails) but I love that they give you a chance to say WHY someone is harassing you. That’s all I want from Facebook; 50 words or less to explain the situation. Make it fairer.

        To be honest, I thought Jack would not want his name everywhere, which is why I blocked it out. Apparently, he isn’t shy. Which is silly, because now, if it goes viral … a lot of people will know it’s him. And while there’ll always be people that side with a clearly crazy person because #letshatewomen, I think most people will agree 5 different accounts (now) just to harass one person is a bit obsessive and crazy.

        Thank you so much for your support! Everyone’s been super good about it, but it’s really nice to be reassured that it’s not my fault. And that Jack is just crazy.

        Also, who does that? I don’t go to places, or search for things, that I don’t like, deliberately. If I stumble upon them, that’s different. But to actively search it out? What is wrong with you? Do you not have a life??

        Like

      • I definitely think that some good will come from all of us reporting him. Hopefully. And seriously I don’t think he has anything more important to do

        Liked by 1 person

      • carlalouise89 says:

        I don’t think so, either. Otherwise, he’d be out doing it.
        I think so too. The more women reporting, the more someone has to take notice. Which is good.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

