Book Review: The Spectacular Now

So…I have just finished The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp

I will probably watch the movie tonight or tomorrow but until then…


 

THERE ARE SPOILERS, BEWARE!


When I first started this book I thought that it was going to be really great. Then I started reading and changed my mind. Within the first 15 chapters (they’re very short), all I could think about was the fact that the main character Sutter is the biggest, most sexist idiot on the planet. The only reason that I kept reading is because this book was a gift from my friend.

Whether Sutter wants to believe it or not…he’s an alcoholic. That’s pretty much clear from the very beginning of the book. He is incredibly immature and it seriously pained me to read this book all the way through because in my opinion it really really sucked. Having to read Sutter’s narration was painful. If I had a quarter for every time I read something that made me roll my eyes, it would be enough to pay my college tuition. Another thing that I hate is how he automatically views Aimee as his charity case. So what if she’s timid and nerdy. Yea she has crappy parents but she is a nice and caring person with a good head on her shoulders, but more on that later.

Speaking of parents, what is with all the crappy parenting that I’ve been reading lately? Sutter’s stepdad is a complete jerk. And I get that Sutter is troubled but considering he is not your child, you don’t get to vote that he gets shipped off somewhere. And why would the mom agree to send him to military school with the hope that he gets drafted during a war? I know they didn’t send him off but that’s not the way that you deal with a troubled kid. And Aimee’s parents…. her mother has a gambling problem and her mother’s boyfriend is lazy and unemployed. This guy isn’t even her stepparent and bosses her around making her get him soda while he’s sitting on his ass doing nothing all day. I’ve dealt with this situation before so I truly feel for her

Another thing that I disliked about Sutter was how he freaked out at Aimee for asking questions about his dad when he’s the one that started the whole lie in the first place. I mean…There’s this crazy thing called telling the truth that could have prevented this situation from happening in the first place. Unfortunately Sutter’s father turned out to be everything that he hoped he wasn’t but I guess that some people are just not fit to be parents.

As far as Ricky goes, I like that he started to change his life around but bailing on your BEST FRIEND for prom because your girlfriend doesn’t like him is pretty low. I have this thing with “best friends” where I believe that you should always look out and defend each other. If someone that I was dating told me that they had an issue with my best friend of so many years, I’m not going to ditch my friend for them. That’s kind of how friendship works.

Aimee…I really don’t know how I feel about her. She’s a sweet girl, that does what she’s told and apologizes too much. In a nutshell, she is too sweet for Sutter. He did give her the confidence that she needed but if you say you don’t want to date the girl then don’t do it. Especially if you’re the first boyfriend she’s ever had and she thinks she’s in love with you. And then choosing to break up with through an email…seriously grow a pair. You got yourself into this mess, be an adult when you get yourself out.

The ending was very realistic which a lot of people point out so I guess that’s the best thing about it.


I know that some people really enjoyed this book but I couldn’t get into it. 2/5 stars and it’s only a 2 because I bothered to finish it. I will still watch the movie because I promised a friend that I would but wow, I really disliked this book.

 

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Review: The Spectacular Now

  1. I completely get your frustration with the book! I wanted to read it because I am a fan of Miles Teller and I saw the movie trailer and thought it looked decent. However, that wasn’t really the case in the end. I was so disappointed with the book, because Sutter was so extremely dislikable and Aimee frustrated me a lot sometimes. I wish I could say that I liked the movie better, but that’s not really all that true. I guess I maybe would have liked it better with some sort of happy ending …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: December Wrap Up! | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

