Book Review: Shatter Me

Hi all! I haven’t done a book review in months because I haven’t any time to read, but now that I’m on winter break I’m going to try to read as much as I can before school starts again.


Yesterday I finished Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. It’s a dystopian novel about a girl named Juliette that has a rare condition. By condition I mean that she can kill people just by touching them….

So, I think I’ll give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars. Originally I was thinking 3 stars but the .5 comes from the fact that I do want to keep reading the story because I have to know how it ends.


 

Here is the Goodreads description if you’re unfamiliar with the plot:

I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior


To start, I love Juliette’s character (for the most part). I think she’s strong, brave, and sarcastic when necessary. My issue is that her relationship with Adam progresses way too quickly. Sure, they knew each other once upon a time, but when you haven’t seen someone for years (especially since you were just children) you don’t just fall in love that fast. (If you don’t know already, I’m not a huge believer in love at first site and all that)

I do really like Adam, he’s great for Juliette and a great big brother for James – who is definitely my favorite character at the moment, he’s adorable. Despite the fact that I think it all happened to fast, if there had been more time I would think that Adam and Juliette’s relationship was perfect. It’s one of those stories where you know which couple is meant to be together (like Bella & Edward, Katniss & Peeta, etc.). But I am very curious as to why Adam is immune to her condition.

Which leads me to Warner. I was not at all expecting that he would be immune to her touch, but I hate that he is. He is obsessed with her. Not cute obsessed but in a really creepy and controlling way. I do really want to read Destroy Me next because its told from his prospective and hopefully will shed some light on what goes on inside of his twisted little head.

I was totally surprised that Kenji was undercover but it made me hate him less to find out that he is. Seriously I hated him. He was so rude and immature when he was first introduced. I have a little bit more respect for him now that I know he’s a part of Omega. Still kind of hate him though so I hope he gets better.

I was really starting to get into the story and then I suddenly realized that I had finished it. Obviously, its supposed to leave you wanting more because its a series but I felt that the ending was very abrupt. It snuck up on me out of no where and I did not like that at all.

I also have questions that I need answers to:

  • Who exactly is Warner’s father?
  • What do Adam and Warner have in common that makes them both immune to Juliette?
  • Where the hell are Juliette’s parents?

Either way, it wasn’t too bad. For now, I am waiting for my friend Bria to finish it so that we can keep reading together. Until then, my next review will be on Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour!

 

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Book Review: Shatter Me

  1. Hmm…sounds kinda interesting. Maybe I’ll check it out! Thanks for the review. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jen says:

    Sounds interesting. I also dislike books that end abruptly or leave me feeling unfulfilled! Especially if it isn’t part of a series.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t believe I started with the second book in this series without reading Shatter Me first. I’m just going to say that you asked very good questions about the plot. They will be answered. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Except for one of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yep, I read Unravel Me. Abrupt endings that they feel as if they were written that way JUST to get you to read the next book, are the worst. Compared with what you said about the ending of Shatter Me, I think Unravel Me ended much better.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hahaha OMG! Prepare for your mind to change completely about most characters by the time you get to the final book. I love reading people’s reviews of the first book and then the other ones. I adore Tahereh Mafi’s writing and the series as a whole. You’ll get answers to some of your questions in the future, just keep going! 😀 I hope you have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: December Wrap Up! | bookmarkchronicles

  8. Pingback: Shatter Me Series Review | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

