This or That? #17

Hello friends and happy Monday!

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! 🙂

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions please let me know!


So this week I have a challenge that is really to help me understand the fascination with this author. This weeks challenge is between….

blog

Paper Towns vs The Fault in Our Stars

So I read both of these novels and I am really just not a fan. I’ve done reviews on both so you can check those out. (Paper Towns and The Fault in Our Stars)

If you are unfamiliar with one of the novels still let me know what you thought of the other. If you are unfamiliar with both, I have the Goodreads descriptions below and you can read those and comment on which one sounds more interesting!

The Fault in Our Stars:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Paper Towns:

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…


 

In a nutshell, I feel like there is no point to his novels. Most people say that The Fault in Our Stars was a good love story but I disagree. Just because there is a love story, doesn’t automatically make it a good one.

And nothing happens in the story. They travel across the country to find out that the author that Hazel was obsessed with is a jerk and then Gus dies. There’s nothing exciting about that. I’m also tired of people saying that because it’s about cancer that it is the “saddest thing that they’ve ever dealt with” Um… you didn’t “deal” with anything. My family went through this in real life so your fictional obsession means nothing to me.

As for Paper Towns, it was extremely redundant and honestly…just boring. Not to mention that Quentin is a bit of a stalker. In the book Margo is a horrible person but I did like her better in the movie. I felt like reading this book was a complete waste of time because he goes on this journey for absolutely nothing. I understand that he thought she was going to harm herself and thankfully that was never her intention, but that part was taken out of the movie and rendered the entire story pointless… especially since she didn’t want him there…

Anyway… If I had to choose I would pick Paper Towns because I absolutely despise The Fault in Our Stars.


I do want to read Looking for Alaska because I’ve heard its a popular book but if I don’t enjoy it, then I am officially done with John Green novels.

What do you guys think? Are you John Green fans? Which of these would you choose?

Let me know!

 

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This or That? #17

  1. Pingback: November Wrap Up! | bookmarkchronicles

  2. Pingback: This or That? Challenge #17 | Vrushali

  3. Pingback: This or That…? #17 | fallinlovewiththesoundofwords

  4. WeAreThePoisonedYouth (BookLoverFob) says:

    Haha like it! I resally want to read those books though… I wonder if I’ll agree with you when I’ve read them! Btw, I think it’s Looking For Alaska not Waiting For Alaska.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

