Rae’s Rules to Remember #1

Hi friends. So I am officially implementing a new feature here at the Bookmark Chronicles called Rae’s Rules to Remember. There is not set timeline for it, but it will happen randomly whenever I come across a topic to discuss.

Most of these will be based off of personal experiences that I may be having at a certain time, or from conversations with friends. Essentially, they will be mini life lessons, or just me venting about something that’s really eating away at me. So feel free to jump in and comment if you can relate.


So lately I have been feeling burned out, exhausted and under appreciated. Feeling burned out will be a topic for another post but today I think I need to focus on appreciation.

Within the past two weeks I have had this overwhelming feeling that a lot of the things that I do go unnoticed. I’m not the kind of person that does things to gain attention but I feel that I am constantly giving everything that I have and then feeling as if its all for nothing.

I am a very involved student leader on campus and there is one organization in particular that I have worked extremely hard to keep active. I have worked my ass off for three years keeping this organization afloat. And as an outgoing senior I have trained the new executive board in every way possible to ensure that they can stay up and running after I graduate.

However, I still have exec members coming to me and asking questions that they should already know the answers to. This just goes to show that all of the time I spent teaching them how to run the organization was for nothing. I have never had to deal with such laziness and lack of commitment, and honestly, why should I? I can’t keep giving over 100% if everyone else is only giving 10.

So I have finally decided that at the end of the semester, I am going to resign and let them figure it out for the rest of the year. If they crash and burn, then not only will I not feel bad about it, I will know that I did absolutely everything that I could to keep them going. If somehow, they manage to keep going, then at least I’ll know that someone was listening.

At this point, I really can’t spend my senior year doing everyone else’s job on top of my own. I have more important things to worry about and it is not my job to fix everyone else’s mistakes. As much as I love being a part of this organization, I refuse to keep bending over backwards just for all of my hard work to go to waste.


Moral of the story: Know when to walk away

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Rae's Rules. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rae’s Rules to Remember #1

  1. I totally agree with you. 🙂 I usually do the same. There usually comes a point when I get so frustrated with people’s lack of commitment that I just up and leave. There’s no other way to get them working.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know right! So annoying!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think you’re doing the right thing…for me, I’m not the leader really ever, I’m just the one who always does the right thing and no one ever notices…sometimes, I feel a bit invisible…ha ha, but in all honesty, people need a wakeup call sometimes…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t think it’s particularly healthy for yourself to be on everyones beck and call. It’s good that your resigning, more time to your yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: November Wrap Up! | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

