This or That? #13

Happy Monday 🙂 and welcome back to the This or That Challenge here at Bookmark Chronicles!

In case anyone needs a reminder or is new to the Bookmark Chronicles, here are the rules: Every Monday I will post a This or That Challenge where we will choose between two characters or scenarios. On Friday we will see which scenario/character wins. Feel free to either comment your choice below or make your own post and link it back here! 🙂

By no means do you have to feel obligated to do every single challenge, but I would love to hear all of your opinions! If you can only really talk about one scenario then go for it. Also, if you have any suggestions please let me know!


So this week I want to know how you choose what books to buy. Do you make your choice based off of reviews (Goodreads, recommendations from friends, etc.)

OR

Do you go with your own instincts? (You thought the summary sounded good, you thought the cover was pretty, etc.)


For the most part, I just go with my instinct. If I read the back cover and I want to know more then I will buy it. Sometimes I pick up a book because I was drawn to it by the cover and then if the summary is good that’s it, I’ll take it!

I think that this is both a good and a bad thing. Good because I get to explore and maybe discover a genre or author that I would not have found otherwise. Bad because sometimes the summary is misleading and the book turns out to be not so great. In that case, if I had read the review I probably wouldn’t have gotten it.

Either way, I’d rather stick to my gut.

What about you? What compels you to purchase a book? Let me know! 🙂

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in this or that. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to This or That? #13

  1. Hmm.. For me its kind of both. I look at the summary,if I like it, I proceed to my friends reviews. Then I add it to my TBR.
    This is so fun! I’ll try to participate in the next one too(and possibly make a post) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: This or That…? #13 | fallinlovewiththesoundofwords

  3. honya says:

    Very good question! I tend to browse reviews and tuck away mental notes of ones that look interesting. Then when I get to the bookstore or website, I browse there, looking for interesting covers, summaries, authors I like, and books I’ve already mentally marked. I’ll probably end up with a stack that’s partly ones others recommended and partly ones that just looked interesting in their own right. It’s fun that way, and I get the best of both worlds (also, a huge TBR stack, but let’s not mention that.) 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I tend not to read reviews of books but I’m more inclined to pick up a book if a lot of people are talking about it

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: This or That? Challenge #13 | vrushali21

  6. I really enjoy dong this or that with you!! I posted This or that on my blog to let you know. Thank you for letting me do this with you:D

    Like

  7. Pingback: This or That? Challenge #13 | katnisspotterbooklover

  8. Pingback: November Wrap Up! | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

