Best Friends Forever by Jennifer Weiner

bff

For some reason, it took me a very long time to finish this book but finally I did.

This is the first novel that I’ve read by Jennifer Weiner and I would probably give it 3/5 stars. One thing that I appreciate about this book is that it touches on a lot of different issues including mental illness, bullying, self-image/self-confidence, and sexual assault. I feel like I don’t read many books where more than one of these issues is covered, so I think it’s a good thing to finally see that.

Although there are a lot of issues within the story it still has a happy ending. The main character (Addie Downs) gets her best friend (Valerie Adler) back after many years and is getting ready to start a new chapter in her life. (I won’t give anything away in case anyone is interested in reading it). The only thing that I didn’t like was Addie’s character in the beginning. She is very self-conscious, naive, and a little weak. However, her character does develop by the end of the story, and instead of complaining she decides to make changes to become the person that she wants to be. I appreciate that a lot because one of my biggest pet peeves are people that complain about things but refuse to do anything about it.

Overall, this was a good read. It’s only my first by this author so I would have to read more to decide whether or not I like her yet. Until then my next read will be Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult!

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best Friends Forever by Jennifer Weiner

  1. comfyreading says:

    I usually love Jennifer Weiner books, but this one had me snoring.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: July Wrap Up and Exciting New Things! | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

