Confession: I am a classic literature failure…

I really hate to have to admit this but… there are a lot of great books that I’ve never read. I expected that I would read most of them in high school but it never happened. As someone who loves to read, I feel really bad that I’ve never read some of them…..well, a lot of them. Here’s the list:

Of Mice and Men, A Tale of Two Cities, Hamlet, The Great Gatsby, Sense and Sensibility, To Kill A Mockingbird, Wuthering Heights, The Count of Monte Cristo, Fahrenheit 451, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Macbeth, As I lay Dying, Slaughterhouse Five, Crime and Punishment, Emma, Jane Eyre, The Odyssey, Anna Karenina, Beowulf, Grapes of Wrath…..this list could go one for a while but  I think you get the point.

I know, it’s pretty bad but it is the truth. I’ve always wanted to read these books but just never got around to it. In my defense though, I did read Pride and Prejudice in seventh grade. Honestly, from that book I fell in love with Jane Austen. I downloaded Persuasion onto my Kindle but the screen froze and I never finished it. If it helps I’ve also read The Scarlet Letter, 1984, Animal Farm, Moby Dick, Little Women, The Catcher and the Rye, Great Expectations, and a few others.

But it’s okay I have a plan! When I graduate from college I will start building my classic literature collection. Until then, If there are any classics that I’ve missed or absolutely HAVE to read let me know!

About Bookmark Chronicles

Hi! I'm Rae. 23. Avid Reader, Book Blogger. Intersectional Feminist. Gryffindor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Confession: I am a classic literature failure…

  1. the poppyseed bee says:

    I dont typically go for classics either but was forced to read them throughout high school. Now, I’m glad cause I can say I read them ahahah!
    I love me some thrillers :). I’ve been trying to get into some fantasy novels lately…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: July Wrap Up and Exciting New Things! | bookmarkchronicles

  3. Pingback: Day 22 – A book that you’ve wanted to read for a long time but haven’t | bookmarkchronicles

Leave a Reply

